Arizona Gold V2.4 PcMac

Develop, collaborate, test and share new maps
Post Reply
User avatar
Lowell
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lowell » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:30 pm

dwax wrote:Can someone look at this and see what I'm doing wrong? :?
I'll take a look and see how your list is made...

EDIT//oops...missed the last post where you found the typos...Glad you found it. Double Mikados are cool for freight. I have a screenshot of one posted below.
Last edited by Lowell on Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:37 pm

Lowell

if you want to use another Steam engine can you use your code as reference? Can you just back out the CONSOLIDATION_DUAL and add another engine?
Image

User avatar
Lowell
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lowell » Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:27 pm

dwax wrote:Lowell

if you want to use another Steam engine can you use your code as reference? Can you just back out the CONSOLIDATION_DUAL and add another engine?
EDIT//Always copy the "Trains" xml data from the "same type engine."
You must copy the same engine's xml train data for the one you want to make dual. Consolidation for Consolidation...P5 for P5 etc.

All you do is modify the couple lines in the trains xml list. Here is a second example using the Mikado. I have colored the areas so as to "see" what areas I have changed...and...the areas you will need to change as you make your own dual models. The green areas are the train's xml data that you copy/paste making a second train. The dark red lines are what need modified on any engines list. The blue area is the power and speed if you would like to adjust for greater pulling power "be careful...steam engines don't travel at 140mph." :D Last is the year the loco will pop up on any map you play...ie., set it for 1800 and it will always show up, those settings are colored in olive.

C:\Documents and Settings\Your_Username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\RRT_Trains.xml

<Train>
<szName>TAG_NAME_MIKADO_DUAL</szName>
<Year>1910</Year>
<szManufacturerName>Lima</szManufacturerName>
<szModel>2_8_2_Mikado.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>2_8_2_Mikado_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>

<szTenderCar>2_8_2_Mikado_dummy</szTenderCar>
<szCar>_v2</szCar>
<szNewTrainImage>event_newtrain_2_8_2_mikado.dds</szNewTrainImage>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>

<MaxSpeed>8</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>7</Speed0>
<Power>29</Power>

<Cost>100000</Cost>
<MaintenanceCost>4000</MaintenanceCost>
<Diesel>0</Diesel>
<RunLength>126</RunLength>
<HasEngineer>1</HasEngineer>
<rgbDefaultColor>200,150,0</rgbDefaultColor>
<BitmapIcon>
<szFile>Assets/Interface/TrainRouting/routing_Mikado.tga</szFile>
</BitmapIcon>
<fStartSoundCrossFade>2.0</fStartSoundCrossFade>
<szStartSound>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_START_4</szStartSound>
<szStopSound>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_STOP_4</szStopSound>
<fSpeedStartWait>0.25</fSpeedStartWait>
<fSpeedCrossFade>3.0</fSpeedCrossFade>
<iPitchChange>4000</iPitchChange>
<SpeedSounds>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_SLOW_LP_1</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_MID_SLOW_LP_1</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_MID_FAST_LP_1</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_FAST_LP_1</szSpeed>
</SpeedSounds>
<szSharpAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL</szSharpAngleSqueal>
<szAverageAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_MEDIUM</szAverageAngleSqueal>
<szSlightAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_LIGHT</szSlightAngleSqueal>
</Train>


C:\Documents and Settings\Your_Username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\RRT_TrainCars.xml

<TenderCar>
<szName>2_8_2_Mikado_dummy</szName>
<szModel>2_8_2_Mikado.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>2_8_2_Mikado_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>

<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<RunLength>25</RunLength>
</TenderCar>


C:\Documents and Settings\YourUsername\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\Names_enu.xml
enu for english, fra for french etc.

<TextKey>
<Tag>TAG_NAME_MIKADO_DUAL</Tag>
<Text>2-8-2 Mikado Dual Set</Text>

<Gender>M</Gender>
</TextKey>



=Be careful when adding new lines inside xml listings...=
<Train></Train>Always break between the end and beginning of the next listing<Train></Train>
=The greater and less than symbols are super important.=
=The game will freak if you erase one inside the lists. {< >}=

After adding any new lines to any list, check the listing for the train before and after the one you just created. Making sure you didn't erase the ending or beginning of anouther train. Go slow...do only one at a time...that way you can backup and fix things easier. I can always post the colored copy/paste script for anyone that needs any engine doubled. The P5 looks real cool doubled pulling coal or ore. Any engine can be copied this way. Always be careful of spelling...the game doesn't have a built-in spell checker. If something won't show up correctly...read over everything carefully...letter by letter...caps too. Only seven lines need changed in three different files...less the speed and date.

The second way is to copy all the base files... nif, kfm, spec, dummies, emsk, nrml and diff files and build a totally new model with new skins/textures. Or...take a TGA to DDS file and make your own displacement files {nrml,emsk,spec etc.} I have many of the games locos/engines base files already copied. This would be a totally different process which there are very good tutorials out there for that. Please feel free to contact me and let me know if there might be more to add/correct to this post.

The "xml listing" method used above, will double any train using the "skin texture" of that engine.
EDIT//I still am working on trying to import the tender with the train engine making one model. This should allow me to have engine-tender-engine-tender. More than likely I will have to make a whole new displacement set, so it may take a bit.

Image
..............................Gold train on the way..............................

ImageImage
Last edited by Lowell on Fri Apr 13, 2007 5:03 am, edited 13 times in total.

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:34 pm

I tried that last set of code you posted, and I had all red blobs for all my duals. :lol: so I went back and replaced them. :D
Image

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:18 am

Lowell

Can you post the code for the P5? I'd like to see if I can get it in my map. :) Thanks.
Image

User avatar
Lowell
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lowell » Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:43 am

dwax wrote:Lowell

Can you post the code for the P5? I'd like to see if I can get it in my map. :) Thanks.
C:\Documents and Settings\your_username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\RRT_Trains.xml

<Train>
<szName>TAG_NAME_P5_DUAL</szName>
<Year>1925</Year>
<szManufacturerName>PRR</szManufacturerName>
<szModel>P5A.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>P5A_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szCar>_v2</szCar>
<szNewTrainImage>event_newtrain_P5.dds</szNewTrainImage>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<MaxSpeed>9</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>10</Speed0>
<Power>21</Power>
<Cost>120000</Cost>
<MaintenanceCost>4000</MaintenanceCost>
<Diesel>0</Diesel>
<RunLength>72</RunLength>
<rgbDefaultColor>108,31,0</rgbDefaultColor>
<BitmapIcon>
<szFile>Assets/Interface/TrainRouting/routing_P5A.tga</szFile>
</BitmapIcon>
<fStartSoundCrossFade>2.0</fStartSoundCrossFade>
<szStartSound>AS3D_TR_DIESEL_ENGINE_START_1</szStartSound>
<szStopSound>AS3D_TR_DIESEL_ENGINE_STOP_1</szStopSound>
<fSpeedStartWait>0.75</fSpeedStartWait>
<fSpeedCrossFade>3.0</fSpeedCrossFade>
<iPitchChange>2000</iPitchChange>
<szTenderCar>P5ADummy</szTenderCar>
<SpeedSounds>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_DIESEL_ENGINE_SLOW_LP_1</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_DIESEL_ENGINE_MID_SLOW_LP_1</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_DIESEL_ENGINE_MID_FAST_LP_1</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_DIESEL_ENGINE_FAST_LP_1</szSpeed>
</SpeedSounds>
<szSharpAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL</szSharpAngleSqueal>
<szAverageAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_MEDIUM</szAverageAngleSqueal>
<szSlightAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_LIGHT</szSlightAngleSqueal>
</Train>


C:\Documents and Settings\your_username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\RRT_TrainCars.xml

<TenderCar>
<szName>P5ADummy</szName>
<szModel>P5A.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>P5A_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<RunLength>25</RunLength>
</TenderCar>


C:\Documents and Settings\your_username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\Names_ENU.xml

<TextKey>
<Tag>TAG_NAME_P5_DUAL</Tag>
<Text>P5a Class DUAL Set</Text>
<Gender>M</Gender>
</TextKey>


Image

User avatar
K-class
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: New Zealand across from Australia
Contact:

Post by K-class » Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:45 am

Hi Lowell

Agree with dwax this does work, I get red blobs instead of Duals if I follow your instructions, even if I cut and paste. Yes I use xml notepad

I note you have made no referance to maps in this post or do I need glasses? Should there not be a tag added to your RRT_Trains_your_map.xml with a tag referance. I tried this and it CTD

All my dual's work as per all the installers so perhaps its the different xml structure.

Are you running the gloabl xml's for trains. You ran all the train and map installers?
I was trying this on the AZCanyonV2 map

What I suggest you do is zip up your Trains.xml TrainCars.xml enu.xml so we can see what you have done.

:D
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.0GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
XFX NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Mobo
4GB DR2-1066 (PC-8500)
Geforce GTX 460 graphics card 1024 MB GDDR5

snoopy55
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Centralia, Ill, USA

Post by snoopy55 » Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:23 am

K-class - I just tried it out and if you use GLOBALS, what you need to do is add this to each RRT_Trains XML in each map:

<Train>
<szName>TAG_NAME_P5_DUAL</szName>
</Train>


Otherwise the first code goes into the RRT_Trains of the map, the second into the END of the Tender list:

<TenderCar>
<szName>GP38_2W_A</szName>
<szModel>EMD_GP38_2W.nif</szModel>
<szDummyModel>emd_gp38_2_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<RunLength>80</RunLength>
</TenderCar>
<TenderCar>
<szName>P5ADummy</szName>
<szModel>P5A.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>P5A_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<RunLength>25</RunLength>
</TenderCar>
</RRTTenderCars>
</RRTTrainCars>

(the GP38_2W_A is just for reference) and the last goes into the RRT_Names XML

Also, check your spelling and '_' marks in your map entry. I purposly left one out and got the red blob.
I'm correct 97% of the time..... who cares about the other 4%....

User avatar
K-class
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: New Zealand across from Australia
Contact:

Post by K-class » Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:01 am

Thanks snoopy55 yep your advice is spot on. :D

I think that's the problem above as I cut and past Lowell code and prob has errors in it.

The P5_DUAL code is correct as a cut and paste.

I cut and past both codes together and all the issues and CTD's and red blobs and no dual's.

Then I tried just the P5_DUAL code and it worked :D

So as suggested and was doing checked the mikado

In the code that goes into RRT_Trains.xml

There are syntax errors

Code: Select all

<szNewTrainImage>event_newtrain_2_8_2_mikado.dds</szNewTrainIm>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClacd>
should be

Code: Select all

<szNewTrainImage>event_newtrain_2_8_2_mikado.dds</szNewTrainImage>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
now all working a treat.
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.0GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
XFX NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Mobo
4GB DR2-1066 (PC-8500)
Geforce GTX 460 graphics card 1024 MB GDDR5

User avatar
K-class
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: New Zealand across from Australia
Contact:

Post by K-class » Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:14 am

Just want to thank Lowell for coming up with this easy way to have dual trains.

snoopy55 or Lowell can we get a post in Railroads! Mods - Trains with this info or the Wiki, as if you are not reading this map post you are going to miss out on a great little mod. :D
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.0GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
XFX NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Mobo
4GB DR2-1066 (PC-8500)
Geforce GTX 460 graphics card 1024 MB GDDR5

snoopy55
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Centralia, Ill, USA

Post by snoopy55 » Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:17 am

I corrected them in his post and tested it out. As you said, works fine....

The map entry for the Mikados is:

<Train>
<szName>TAG_NAME_MIKADO_DUAL</szName>
<Year>1910</Year>
</Train>

Let's see what Lowell wants to do. If he turns you down, Give me some time and I'll tackle it. There's still alot of work to be done with the XML file explanations. I've also got 5 grandchildren coming over for the weekend. :twisted:
I'm correct 97% of the time..... who cares about the other 4%....

User avatar
K-class
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: New Zealand across from Australia
Contact:

Post by K-class » Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:56 am

Thanks snoopy55 - Yep in small doses and the best thing they do go home but grandchildren are more important than SMR :D

Just have converted a lot of my trains and I have a whole pile renamed as Kevs heavy haulers and with the the likes of the AC4400 I dumped the tender mod and just did Lowell's xml trick / mod and now have both pointing in the same direction. I even had the SantaFee both pointing the same way and running backwards.

This mod has put a smile back on my face. I also tweaked this map and lowered all the goals from 20 30 40 etc for goods down to 5 10 15 etc so I can spend more time laying track and enjoying this map by karsten

Great map and running dual steamers etc and admiring the sceanery and no CTD's is :D :D :D :D :D
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.0GHz
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
XFX NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Mobo
4GB DR2-1066 (PC-8500)
Geforce GTX 460 graphics card 1024 MB GDDR5

User avatar
karsten
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:49 pm

Post by karsten » Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:13 pm

Hi K-class,
good to read that you are enjoying running duals on the Arizona map. Why not post an interesting screenshot or two to show what you have done? 8)

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Fri Apr 13, 2007 1:56 pm

I think someone should post this on the trains section. I'm sure there are allot that want the steamers as duals. I know I would like them, but don't have the skill to mod the files. :oops: :cry: :lol:
Image

User avatar
Lowell
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lowell » Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:24 pm

What I do is make sure there is no tender cars listed inside any maps I have, Tender units/cars get placed inside the global file only. If you have tender cars listed inside your maps xml file...that will throw off all your duals.

Inside your scenarios TrainCars file there should only be listed goods cars...no reference to tender cars can be made there.

Dwax...post your three xml files. trains, traincars, enu files...and the traincars xml file from a map you are trying to play

EDIT// Just caught up with the last couple posts... :) Sure I don't mind making a list that can be cut and pasted in. How many? Is there a list...or should we just do all of them ha ha ...

Oh...and by the way...those scripts above are copied from my xml data and they work fine. I had to clean out every maps traincars list game wide, now using the global file any dual or tender cars pop up in all maps just fine.
Last edited by Lowell on Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply