buildstuff victory condition

Discuss maps, trains and other modding topics
Post Reply
User avatar
willie g
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:08 pm

buildstuff victory condition

Post by willie g » Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:45 pm

Gang -
help me with this--
I'm using the Buildstuff Victory Condition;
specifying that an industry be built in a specific city by the end of the era.
As soon as the scenario starts the condition is met (the 'newspaper' headline comes up and the box is green-checked in the Victory tab.
Yet the industry has not been built.
What am I overlooking?

I've got 2 buildstuff conditions in this era and they both immediately act as if they're completed at the start.... one is a 'stock' industry (the refinery) and the other is a copied/renamed industry...

the Buildlist contains three tags - the objectype (industry), the objectname (e.g. refinery), and the citylocation
any help would be appreciated...
-willie g

User avatar
atani
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:01 pm
Contact:

Re: buildstuff victory condition

Post by atani » Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:59 pm

willie g wrote:Gang -
help me with this--
I'm using the Buildstuff Victory Condition;
So far I have only seen OwnStuff conditions with industries.

I would suggest using that instead. An example can be found in the EAST_ONT scenario.

Mike

User avatar
willie g
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:08 pm

Post by willie g » Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:55 pm

atani - that worked! thanks so much.
That begs the question - what is the difference between buildstuff and ownstuff?

Also (in reference to my note on causes of CTD) - I made the mestake of just changing 'buildstuff' to 'ownstuff' in the condition tag (not realizing that there was a 'buildlist' which needed to be changed to 'ownlist' -
The reusult : a CTD immediately clicking on the "Single Player" button in the main menu screen - never saw that drastic a CTD before!!!!

-willie g

User avatar
universum
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:45 am

Post by universum » Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:43 am

BuildStuff condition is actually used for building Depots, Stations or Terminals in specific cities:

Code: Select all

<Condition>
	<szType>BuildStuff</szType>
	<bRequired>1</bRequired>
	<BuildList>
		<BuildListItem>
			<szObjectType>Depot</szObjectType>
			<szObjectName>Terminal</szObjectName>
			<szCityLocation>TAG_CITY_NAME_MOSCOW</szCityLocation>
		</BuildListItem>
		<BuildListItem>
			<szObjectType>Depot</szObjectType>
			<szObjectName>Terminal</szObjectName>
			<szCityLocation>TAG_CITY_NAME_VLADIVOSTOK</szCityLocation>
		</BuildListItem>
		<BuildListItem>
			<szObjectType>Depot</szObjectType>
			<szObjectName>Terminal</szObjectName>
			<szCityLocation>TAG_CITY_NAME_BEIJING</szCityLocation>
		</BuildListItem>
		<BuildListItem>
			<szObjectType>Depot</szObjectType>
			<szObjectName>Terminal</szObjectName>
			<szCityLocation>TAG_CITY_NAME_ULAN_BATAAR</szCityLocation>
		</BuildListItem>
	</BuildList>

Post Reply