Arizona Gold V2.4 PcMac

Develop, collaborate, test and share new maps
Post Reply
User avatar
Lowell
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lowell » Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:39 pm

Yup...

I am making a couple where the tender car is "attached" to the engine model. It will still pivot at the connector bar. Then they both can have a tender. I also am working on a Hudson model. I can do the wheel animation okay...I have to look at their animations sizes and structures and mimic that. Also the F3 B Unit needs smoke...I am looking at that, and the AC4400...I have been digging into the files to see about the color of the tender engine. Getting close.

User avatar
Slappy Da Clown
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:10 pm
Location: Michigans Upper Peninsula USA

That got it

Post by Slappy Da Clown » Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:15 pm

Thanx guys. Map plays smooth now. Another good one. Can move it to my working file now.


Beers all around ( if the trains on time ) Im buyin
Slappy Da Clown
Dell Dimension 8400
Disk C: 118 GB Available, 145 GB Total
3GB Memory
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Series GPU

snoopy55
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Centralia, Ill, USA

Post by snoopy55 » Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:17 pm

Make mine Dr.Pepper :wink:
I'm correct 97% of the time..... who cares about the other 4%....

User avatar
Lowell
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lowell » Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:42 pm

dwax wrote:Lowell

Can you be a little more specific on how you got the steam doubles to work? I keep trying but keep getting knocked back to my desktop. :lol: What do you put in here? <a little bit more stuff then /Train>
Ha ha...oops my bad. I was trying to cut out some of the trains long xml text...snipping it short. I meant to copy the whole train and then name it dual... sorry. :)

Okay here is how to double head steam engines. I will use the 2-8-0 Consolidation as my model.

Look inside the { C:\Documents and Settings\Username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads\CustomAssets\XML\RPT_Trains.xml } and then add this train just under the regular 2-8-0 Consolidation.

<Train>
<szName>TAG_NAME_CONSOLIDATION_DUAL</szName>
<Year>1880</Year>
<szManufacturerName>Baldwin</szManufacturerName>
<szModel>2-8-0_Consolidation.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>2-8-0_Consolidation_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szTenderCar>2-8-0_Consolidation_set</szTenderCar>
<szCar>_v1</szCar>
<szNewTrainImage>event_newtrain_2_8_0_consolidation.dds</szNewTrainImage>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<MaxSpeed>6</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>6</Speed0>
<Power>30</Power>
<Cost>80000</Cost>
<MaintenanceCost>3500</MaintenanceCost>
<Diesel>0</Diesel>
<RunLength>182</RunLength>
<HasEngineer>1</HasEngineer>
<rgbDefaultColor>55,198,251</rgbDefaultColor>
<BitmapIcon>
<szFile>Assets/Interface/TrainRouting/routing_Consolidation.tga</szFile>
</BitmapIcon>
<fStartSoundCrossFade>2.0</fStartSoundCrossFade>
<szStartSound>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_START_4</szStartSound>
<szStopSound>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_STOP_4</szStopSound>
<fSpeedStartWait>0.25</fSpeedStartWait>
<fSpeedCrossFade>3.0</fSpeedCrossFade>
<iPitchChange>4000</iPitchChange>
<SpeedSounds>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_SLOW_LP_4</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_MID_SLOW_LP_4</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_MID_FAST_LP_4</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_FAST_LP_4</szSpeed>
</SpeedSounds>
<szSharpAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL</szSharpAngleSqueal>
<szAverageAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_MEDIUM</szAverageAngleSqueal>
<szSlightAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_LIGHT</szSlightAngleSqueal>
</Train>


Then...look at the { C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\RPT_TrainCars.xml } and then add this new tender for the dual set.

<TenderCar>
<szName>2-8-0_Consolidation_set</szName>
<szModel>2-8-0_Consolidation.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>2-8-0_Consolidation_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<RunLength>34</RunLength>
</TenderCar>


Almost there...we need to name it for the roundhouse...go to { C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\Names_ENU.xml } "ENU for english...etc." and add this line...

<TextKey>
<Tag>TAG_NAME_CONSOLIDATION_DUAL</Tag>
<Text>2-8-0 Consolidation DUAL Set</Text>
<Gender>M</Gender>
</TextKey>


You should have the Dual Consolidation inside your roundhouse most likely right next to the regular one. Any of them can be doubled up this way. I have several. What is "easy" about this is you don't have to go through and make a whole new train with a skin copying the nif, kfm and other files...that is a different process...here we are playing with the script listing only.
Image


Image
Last edited by Lowell on Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:37 am, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:20 pm

Thanks Lowell! will give this a try later. :) How do you give it more power?
Image

User avatar
Lowell
Posts: 653
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lowell » Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:41 pm

The power and speed settings have been tweaked already with the above script. See the post above. It isn't speed we are looking for but a bit more power pulling heavy/big loads.

New Dual settings snipped from the train.xml..."which I admit I guessed at these" :)

<MaxSpeed>6</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>6</Speed0>
<Power>30</Power>

The regular settings for the Single unit are...

<MaxSpeed>6</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>4</Speed0>
<Power>28</Power>
Last edited by Lowell on Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:25 pm

Lowell wrote:The power and speed settings have been tweaked already with the above script. It isn't speed we are looking for but a bit more power pulling heavy/big loads.
What file is this under Lowell? All these questions :lol: Then I will probably CTD LOL Just ask snoopy. :oops: :lol:
Image

User avatar
karsten
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:49 pm

Post by karsten » Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:25 pm

Version 2.2 has been attached to the first post above: * Mail Cars fixed.
Special thanks to Slappy Da Clown for nailing this problem :!:

Just for fun I have added two screenshots with the Superchief and B unit by Big Papa and Choobacca and the Consolidation Dual by Lowell
Attachments
The Consolidation Dual unit on its way to Phoenix
The Consolidation Dual unit on its way to Phoenix
Consolidation Dual to Phoenixa.jpg (378.46 KiB) Viewed 11469 times
Superchief and B unit running passenger train from Vegas to Barstow
Superchief and B unit running passenger train from Vegas to Barstow
Superchief and B unit.jpg (415.1 KiB) Viewed 11507 times

User avatar
Slappy Da Clown
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:10 pm
Location: Michigans Upper Peninsula USA

lol

Post by Slappy Da Clown » Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:20 pm

Hey I didnt do nuttin Im just stubborn.


Keep up the very nice work eh
Slappy Da Clown
Dell Dimension 8400
Disk C: 118 GB Available, 145 GB Total
3GB Memory
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Series GPU

User avatar
atani
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:01 pm
Contact:

Post by atani » Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:40 pm

new installer uploaded to include latest Mail Car fixes...

Its available from page 2...

Mike

User avatar
karsten
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:49 pm

Post by karsten » Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:25 pm

Thanks, atani :!:

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:50 am

Lowell

I got them to work! They look great! 8) I backed up all my files and didn't have any troubles at all. :D Thanks!

You should go to the Trains section and add your code over there. Maybe some others will want them, it's real easy to do. :)

EDIT:

I was having so much fun with it, that I missed that I lost all my Doubles. How can I add this one with out loosing my other doubles?? :shock:
Image

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:18 pm

Can someone look at this and see what I'm doing wrong? :?
Attachments
RRT_Trains_AZCanyonV2.zip
(469 Bytes) Downloaded 408 times
Image

snoopy55
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 5:13 am
Location: Centralia, Ill, USA

Post by snoopy55 » Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:09 pm

Line 13.....you didn't end the </Year> correctly. If you use Notepad++, it will tell you if there is an error and on which line when you try to save it. It also has the indent ability.

Best yet, it's free!!

http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm
I'm correct 97% of the time..... who cares about the other 4%....

User avatar
dwax
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: So. Dak.

Post by dwax » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:25 pm

snoopy55 wrote:Line 13.....you didn't end the </Year> correctly. If you use Notepad++, it will tell you if there is an error and on which line when you try to save it. It also has the indent ability.

Best yet, it's free!!

http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

YAY!! I was using Notepad++ I suppose I was just in a hurry :oops: :lol: That's a pretty good program. Thanks snoopy. :)
Image

Post Reply