Font size mod

It's not a map? It's not a Train? Share and download the files here
Post Reply
User avatar
Falconer
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:00 am

Font size mod

Post by Falconer » Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:54 pm

First ever mod. :)

BUG STILL PRESENT CAUSING YOU NOT TO SEE THE CAR LOADS

Okay, so it's a small one. It was created by zx1111, a user from the CivFanatics forums. This is what he had to say:
----------------
I use 17 inch LCD monitor with 1280*1024 resolution. In this screen size, the text fonts seems to be too small and hard to read for playing long time. I also have little poor sight and bad lighting condition, too.
So I enlarged the text font size of the "Sid Meier's Railroads!" game. Like this:

- Small, fine print text : 10 point ==> 14 point.
- Normal common text : 14 point ==> 18 point.

Unzip the attached file in this article and put the "RailroadTheme_Common.thm" file to
"<GAME INSTALL DIRECORY>\Resource\Themes\Railroad" directory
BACKUP ORIGNAL 'RailroadTheme_Common.thm' before overwrite it.

I say, "GAME INSTALLATION" directory, not your directory under "My Document\My Games" directory.
For example : "C:\Program Files\Sid Meier's Railroads!\Resource\Themes\Railroad\"
Attachments
SM_RailroadT!_FontSize.zip
(5.46 KiB) Downloaded 1246 times
Last edited by Falconer on Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
d53642
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:27 pm
Location: Halifax NS

Post by d53642 » Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:13 am

This is a nice mod, I can actually see what is being said very easily now since I have some alerts like new engines and newspaper headings turned off. I play at 1600x1200 and before the writing was pretty small.

User avatar
d53642
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:27 pm
Location: Halifax NS

Post by d53642 » Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:52 am

By changing the font size, you also get rid of the train load icon in the bottom middle hud. You can't see the icons of your full or empty cars because the fonts get bigger and use more space.

Just a warning for those that like to look at that option.

User avatar
Falconer
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:00 am

Post by Falconer » Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:16 pm

Good warning. :) (too late for me hehe)

User avatar
Falconer
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:00 am

Post by Falconer » Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:50 pm

Nope :)

But I can always re-install.

User avatar
d53642
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:27 pm
Location: Halifax NS

Post by d53642 » Fri Oct 27, 2006 2:09 pm

I backed it up, here is the orignal file.
Attachments
RailroadTheme_Common.rar
(5.06 KiB) Downloaded 645 times

User avatar
Falconer
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:00 am

Post by Falconer » Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:31 am

The bug with the payload information has now been fixed by the author of the mod.

User avatar
Falconer
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:00 am

Post by Falconer » Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:30 pm

Haven't had time yet, but I have a good feeling about the creator's ability to fix it. :)

User avatar
d53642
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:27 pm
Location: Halifax NS

Post by d53642 » Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:52 pm

Still a no go on my for seeing the icons Falc.

User avatar
Falconer
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 11:00 am

Post by Falconer » Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:04 pm

Nope, you're right. Will contact the author.

MarkShot
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:54 pm

Thank you!

Post by MarkShot » Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:25 pm

Seems to be working okay for me at 1600x1200 on a 21.3" LCD.

This definitely improves the display. I only lose about 1/2 the train icons. Thus, I still see enough to get the key information.

Thank you very much!

---

That was one nice thing about RT3. No matter what the resolution, the font scaled and was fairly easy to read.

Post Reply