integrated Train Table

Discuss maps, trains and other modding topics
monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Thu Sep 09, 2010 6:27 am

ok thanks man..its work !
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:53 pm

TUNNEL
does anyone know how to trick the masonry tunnel in overlapping condition or in double track condition, they always turn into a narrow masonry tunnel which is look ugly unrealistic for me.

or does any MODer hav any wider tunnel for double track ?

User avatar
Warll
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Contact:

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by Warll » Fri Sep 10, 2010 4:43 pm

You could try cloning the fat tunnel's model and replacing the thin tunnel's model.
Image

User avatar
Jancsika
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by Jancsika » Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:35 pm

The tunnels properties are specified in the RRT_Tunnels.XLM
File. You can change them. The file starts with extensive notes as what can be done and what the commands are.
If you do any alteration the revised XML file should go in the UserMaps\MAP folder, but the name will stay the same: RRT_Tunnels.XML (NO Mapname!!).
You have to add the line <TunnelXMLFile>RRT_Tunnels.xml</TunnelXMLFile> to the maps Scenario file.
The game will use the Tunnel file with the latest date.
In general you can change the tolerance, Star/end depth, angle, star year, type.

But that’s about it. One would have to get into the NIF files and do some editing. And up to now nobody has done it.
So unfortunately we have to do with what we have. :mrgreen:

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:32 am

Many thanks for the support, guys :D

still found some errors adding goods/industries, but i think i should glad to have the game this far.
looking forward for SMR II :D :D

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:35 pm

hi guys :)

error again..this time came from the city, each time my cursor went over the "metropolis" city in the train route map, the game will crash.

i found 3 lines of these long code :
<!-- GroÃÆâ€â......
between the METROPOLIS and CITY city type in RRT_Cities_<mapname>

deleting these lines wont cure the crash.
someone please advice

User avatar
Jancsika
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by Jancsika » Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:30 pm

It could be a simple typo.
I just had a similar case, used (-) instead of (_) in my TrainCar.xml file. Took me 2 days to find it.
If the game does not immediately crashes, you can watch when the error appears, (like loading a train or placing an annex) that will point to the source of the error.
If all fails, upload the file and I’ll take a look.
Jancsika
PS. I backup my work often, so I have a point to go back to, if everything else fails.

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:12 pm

hi Jancsika,

thanks, first time i use (-) instead of (_) the game didn't crash immediately even the cursor point to the 'metropolis" city in the map, but it just for a few seconds and i still couldn't find the error.

i would like to upload the RRT_city_<map>.xml file..but i just realized that the file is >200mb alone !! while others just in a few KB. this must be the problem.

User avatar
Jancsika
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by Jancsika » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:51 pm

i would like to upload the RRT_city_<map>.xml file..but i just realized that the file is >200mb alone !! while others just in a few KB. this must be the problem.
I am looking for these files they are not that big: (less than 1 MB) You must have something in there that does not belong.

map_NYC_Chicago.tga
map_NYC_Chicago_thumbnail.dds
RRT_Cities_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_Decorations_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_Events_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_Goods_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_Industries_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_Names_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_Scenario_User_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_TrainCars_NYC_Chicago.xml
RRT_Trains_NYC_Chicago.xml

When I mentioned the typo problem, I used the -/_ problem as an example. It could be anything miss-typed. When you place a new product or feature in the XML file, just an added blank space will make a difference.
Instead of typing try to use copy and paste, it is safer.
And back up often :mrgreen:
Jancsika

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:00 am

ah..i c, thanks for the advice :)

i ll try to find this "bug", should i check all the xml files in : usermap>mapname or only to a specific file since the problem only crashed in the train route map over the metropolis city ?

and i don't have the RRT_event_mapname.xml file but have the depot file, should this be the problem ?

User avatar
Jancsika
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by Jancsika » Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:21 am

ll try to find this "bug", should i check all the xml files in : usermap>mapname or only to a specific file since the problem only crashed in the train route map over the metropolis city ?

and i don't have the RRT_event_mapname.xml file but have the depot file, should this be the problem ?
Step #1.
Resize the Metropolis to Town or City. You can do that in the Terrain editor or in the RRT_Cities_Mapname.XML file. If the error still persist then it is elsewhere.
Step #2. You mentioned RRT_Depots.XML file.
In order to tell you what to do, I would like to know what is in your Industries,Scenario and Depots XML files.
Are you using stock industries or have some Custom industries? It makes a difference.
The bottom line is: I’ll need to look at your XML files.

The list of the XML files should correspond with the list in the RRT_Scenario_User_Mapname_XML file.

The Depot file could be a problem. But here again I have to see what you got.
Jancsika

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:10 am

hi Jancsika,

here is my xml file attached
sorry bothering you with this, just do it in your free time :mrgreen:

oh, i have deleted 3 lines of the strange code at RRT_cities file to reduce the size (236mb to 22kb).

thanks a lot.
Attachments
euromap2.rar
(91.36 KiB) Downloaded 285 times

User avatar
Jancsika
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by Jancsika » Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:18 pm

Need one more file in order for me to get into the Terrain Editor:
It is either:
Euromap.SMR_Scenario
or
Euro2.SMR_Scenario
Jancsika

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:28 pm

after "terrain editor" will the map still compatible with any of recent saved game?
Attachments
Euro2.rar
(113 Bytes) Downloaded 224 times

monolithos
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: integrated Train Table

Post by monolithos » Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:46 pm

i ve another try after deleting the strange code in RRT_cities, the similar code shows and replaces in the metropolis city's demand icon in the game.

you can see in the saved game (attached).

p.s.:
this map using some goods/industries/etc from :
Basin & Range 1.0 (installed)
Borneo 1.1 (added partially)
Attachments
05.rar
(1.17 MiB) Downloaded 244 times

Post Reply