Page 6 of 11

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:39 pm
by Lowell
Yup...

I am making a couple where the tender car is "attached" to the engine model. It will still pivot at the connector bar. Then they both can have a tender. I also am working on a Hudson model. I can do the wheel animation okay...I have to look at their animations sizes and structures and mimic that. Also the F3 B Unit needs smoke...I am looking at that, and the AC4400...I have been digging into the files to see about the color of the tender engine. Getting close.

That got it

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:15 pm
by Slappy Da Clown
Thanx guys. Map plays smooth now. Another good one. Can move it to my working file now.


Beers all around ( if the trains on time ) Im buyin

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:17 pm
by snoopy55
Make mine Dr.Pepper :wink:

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:42 pm
by Lowell
dwax wrote:Lowell

Can you be a little more specific on how you got the steam doubles to work? I keep trying but keep getting knocked back to my desktop. :lol: What do you put in here? <a little bit more stuff then /Train>
Ha ha...oops my bad. I was trying to cut out some of the trains long xml text...snipping it short. I meant to copy the whole train and then name it dual... sorry. :)

Okay here is how to double head steam engines. I will use the 2-8-0 Consolidation as my model.

Look inside the { C:\Documents and Settings\Username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads\CustomAssets\XML\RPT_Trains.xml } and then add this train just under the regular 2-8-0 Consolidation.

<Train>
<szName>TAG_NAME_CONSOLIDATION_DUAL</szName>
<Year>1880</Year>
<szManufacturerName>Baldwin</szManufacturerName>
<szModel>2-8-0_Consolidation.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>2-8-0_Consolidation_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szTenderCar>2-8-0_Consolidation_set</szTenderCar>
<szCar>_v1</szCar>
<szNewTrainImage>event_newtrain_2_8_0_consolidation.dds</szNewTrainImage>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<MaxSpeed>6</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>6</Speed0>
<Power>30</Power>
<Cost>80000</Cost>
<MaintenanceCost>3500</MaintenanceCost>
<Diesel>0</Diesel>
<RunLength>182</RunLength>
<HasEngineer>1</HasEngineer>
<rgbDefaultColor>55,198,251</rgbDefaultColor>
<BitmapIcon>
<szFile>Assets/Interface/TrainRouting/routing_Consolidation.tga</szFile>
</BitmapIcon>
<fStartSoundCrossFade>2.0</fStartSoundCrossFade>
<szStartSound>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_START_4</szStartSound>
<szStopSound>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_STOP_4</szStopSound>
<fSpeedStartWait>0.25</fSpeedStartWait>
<fSpeedCrossFade>3.0</fSpeedCrossFade>
<iPitchChange>4000</iPitchChange>
<SpeedSounds>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_SLOW_LP_4</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_MID_SLOW_LP_4</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_MID_FAST_LP_4</szSpeed>
<szSpeed>AS3D_TR_STEAM_ENGINE_FAST_LP_4</szSpeed>
</SpeedSounds>
<szSharpAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL</szSharpAngleSqueal>
<szAverageAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_MEDIUM</szAverageAngleSqueal>
<szSlightAngleSqueal>AS3D_CURVE_SQUEAL_LIGHT</szSlightAngleSqueal>
</Train>


Then...look at the { C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\RPT_TrainCars.xml } and then add this new tender for the dual set.

<TenderCar>
<szName>2-8-0_Consolidation_set</szName>
<szModel>2-8-0_Consolidation.kfm</szModel>
<szDummyModel>2-8-0_Consolidation_dummies.nif</szDummyModel>
<szGroundClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_GROUND</szGroundClackSound>
<szBridgeClackSound>AS3D_CLACK_PLANET_BRIDGE</szBridgeClackSound>
<RunLength>34</RunLength>
</TenderCar>


Almost there...we need to name it for the roundhouse...go to { C:\Documents and Settings\username\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Railroads!\CustomAssets\XML\Names_ENU.xml } "ENU for english...etc." and add this line...

<TextKey>
<Tag>TAG_NAME_CONSOLIDATION_DUAL</Tag>
<Text>2-8-0 Consolidation DUAL Set</Text>
<Gender>M</Gender>
</TextKey>


You should have the Dual Consolidation inside your roundhouse most likely right next to the regular one. Any of them can be doubled up this way. I have several. What is "easy" about this is you don't have to go through and make a whole new train with a skin copying the nif, kfm and other files...that is a different process...here we are playing with the script listing only.
Image


Image

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:20 pm
by dwax
Thanks Lowell! will give this a try later. :) How do you give it more power?

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:41 pm
by Lowell
The power and speed settings have been tweaked already with the above script. See the post above. It isn't speed we are looking for but a bit more power pulling heavy/big loads.

New Dual settings snipped from the train.xml..."which I admit I guessed at these" :)

<MaxSpeed>6</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>6</Speed0>
<Power>30</Power>

The regular settings for the Single unit are...

<MaxSpeed>6</MaxSpeed>
<Speed0>4</Speed0>
<Power>28</Power>

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:25 pm
by dwax
Lowell wrote:The power and speed settings have been tweaked already with the above script. It isn't speed we are looking for but a bit more power pulling heavy/big loads.
What file is this under Lowell? All these questions :lol: Then I will probably CTD LOL Just ask snoopy. :oops: :lol:

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:25 pm
by karsten
Version 2.2 has been attached to the first post above: * Mail Cars fixed.
Special thanks to Slappy Da Clown for nailing this problem :!:

Just for fun I have added two screenshots with the Superchief and B unit by Big Papa and Choobacca and the Consolidation Dual by Lowell

lol

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:20 pm
by Slappy Da Clown
Hey I didnt do nuttin Im just stubborn.


Keep up the very nice work eh

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:40 pm
by atani
new installer uploaded to include latest Mail Car fixes...

Its available from page 2...

Mike

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:25 pm
by karsten
Thanks, atani :!:

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:50 am
by dwax
Lowell

I got them to work! They look great! 8) I backed up all my files and didn't have any troubles at all. :D Thanks!

You should go to the Trains section and add your code over there. Maybe some others will want them, it's real easy to do. :)

EDIT:

I was having so much fun with it, that I missed that I lost all my Doubles. How can I add this one with out loosing my other doubles?? :shock:

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:18 pm
by dwax
Can someone look at this and see what I'm doing wrong? :?

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:09 pm
by snoopy55
Line 13.....you didn't end the </Year> correctly. If you use Notepad++, it will tell you if there is an error and on which line when you try to save it. It also has the indent ability.

Best yet, it's free!!

http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:25 pm
by dwax
snoopy55 wrote:Line 13.....you didn't end the </Year> correctly. If you use Notepad++, it will tell you if there is an error and on which line when you try to save it. It also has the indent ability.

Best yet, it's free!!

http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

YAY!! I was using Notepad++ I suppose I was just in a hurry :oops: :lol: That's a pretty good program. Thanks snoopy. :)