Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Trouble getting the game to run? Ask here!
Post Reply
nagball
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:42 pm

Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by nagball » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:50 pm

I am unable to download any scenario from the site. If I right click on a scenario I just get a circle which goes around but nothing downloads.

Also I cannot close the tab without using the task manager to force a close.

Any help would be appreciated.

derailed
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:30 pm

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by derailed » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:17 pm

nagball wrote:I am unable to download any scenario from the site. If I right click on a scenario I just get a circle which goes around but nothing downloads.

Also I cannot close the tab without using the task manager to force a close.

Any help would be appreciated.
do you try it with another Browser=? or maybe your lan-conection is to slow :lol: :lol:

User avatar
Warll
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by Warll » Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:07 pm

Is this a recent thing that just started?

It sounds like it might be redirecting you in a loop. What browser are you using?
Image

nagball
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by nagball » Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:31 pm

Hi

It must be something to do with Internet Explorer as I have just used Mozilla and the file dowloaded OK. I have the latest internet explorer loaded. I last successfully dowloaded scenarios last year and have only recently tried to download more.

User avatar
Warll
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by Warll » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:00 am

Well I'm glad to hear you've got a solution.

Firefox really is a very nice browser, as is google's chrome. Turn of the century IE beat netscape fair and square but they didn't inovate for years. Microsoft has been playing catchup for years and, honestly, I don't understand why they still develop IE.

We don't do anything strange for the downloads so IE should not be locking up.

@Anyone reading this: Is this happening to any one else?
Image

friedlbasson
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:30 pm

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by friedlbasson » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:34 am

Hi -

Am am able to download the maps, but have tried everything to get them working, even with MapShifter I can't get it working.

Can anyone maybe help me get this working?? Will be much appreciated!

Regards,

User avatar
karsten
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:49 pm

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by karsten » Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:40 pm

Could you describe in some more detail what you do when loading custom maps, and what does not work?

friedlbasson
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:30 pm

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by friedlbasson » Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:30 pm

hi -

thanks for the reply.

well, i tried both the instructions on the www.smrsimple.com homepage (under map installation guide) as well as map shifter.

When loading the maps, the map so not appear when running Railroads. Only the the normal maps that comes standard with the game shows when choosing a map to play.

Thanks!

User avatar
karsten
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:49 pm

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by karsten » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:15 am

Presumably your SMR exe does not find your “My Games\Sid Meier’s Railroads!\UserMaps” folder, where you are placing the custom maps. Possibly you have not installed the game in the standard location, ie on C: drive.

friedlbasson
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:30 pm

Re: Problems downloading scenarios from smrsimple.com

Post by friedlbasson » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:31 am

i have...

the maps are loaded in exactly the folder mentioned in the help file?

Post Reply