NR Class Loco in Progress, Could Use Some Help

Develop, share and download custom trains and rolling stock
Dr Frag

NR Class Loco in Progress, Could Use Some Help

Post by Dr Frag » Sat Apr 14, 2007 5:41 am

Hey guys, I imported the AC4400 into 3DS and have been working countless hours changing it to an NR Class for use in Australia maps. I'm new to 3DS but have a fair understanding of 3D modeling. I'm almost done with the geometry but I'm sure there are some things I should do to make it export properly as a .nif file.

Are there any sort of 'clean up' tasks I should do? Remove unused vertices, that sort of thing. I 'welded' all the vertices I could along the way and checked my normals. Most of this was done editing vertices as I'm not good with all the 3DS tools yet.

Also as you can see the texture needs to be remapped but I'm not sure the best way to do it. I saw a tutorial on the UVW Unwrapper(?) and was going to look into that to see if that would help me.

It'll probably take a minor miracle for me to get this into the game . . .
Here's the scene file if'n you're interested.
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R mobo - Core i7 920
G.SKILL 3x1GB PC3 10666
MSI 8800GT Graphics Card
WD 150GB Raptor System Drive
WinXP Pro SP2 (LANfest Old Gamer Prize)

stormfather

Post by stormfather » Mon Apr 16, 2007 4:14 am

That loco looks great, I can't wait to see it in game.

ace13567

Post by ace13567 » Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:14 am

well i used blender for my things which the only things that i had truble with is i forgot to set the nif version and forgot to render my textures. but after i got that all worked out it would work in game fresh out of blender (not vary whell thogh untill after nifscope)

Lowell

quan 4400

Post by Lowell » Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:13 pm

I was messing around with your skin...fits the 4400.